Memorial Cup

The Memorial Cup is a club championship trophy awarded annually to the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) champion. It is awarded following a four-team, round robin tournament between a host team and the champions of the CHL's three member leagues: the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and Western Hockey League (WHL). Sixty teams are eligible to compete for the Memorial Cup, representing nine provinces and five American states.

The trophy was originally known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) in 1919 to be awarded to the junior champion of Canada. From its inception until 1971, the Memorial Cup was open to all Junior A teams in the country and was awarded following a series of league, provincial and regional playoffs culminating in an east-west championship. The three-league tournament format began in 1972 when the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association divided the Junior A rank into two tiers, naming the Memorial Cup as the championship of the Major Junior level.

The Memorial Cup was proposed by Captain James T. Sutherland during World War I, who wanted to create a trophy as a memorial to remember the OHA's players who died during the war. When the trophy was created, it was dedicated in honour of the soldiers who died fighting for Canada in the war. During the 2010 tournament, it will be rededicated to honour all soldiers who died fighting for Canada in any conflict.

Memorial Cup Awards

  • Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy - (MVP)
  • George Parsons Trophy - (Sportsmanship)
  • Hap Emms Memorial Trophy - (Outstanding Goaltender)
  • Ed Chynoweth Trophy - (Leading scorer)
  • Memorial Cup All-Star Team
Past Winners

 2010-11 St John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
2009-10Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2008-09Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2007-08Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
2006-07Vancouver Giants (WHL)
2005-06Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
2004-05London Knights (OHL)
2003-04Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
2002-03Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
2001-02Kootenay Ice (WHL)
2000-01Red Deer Rebels (WHL)
1999-00Rimouski Oceanic (QMJHL)
1998-99Ottawa 67's (OHL)
1997-98Portland Winter Hawks (WHL)
1996-97Hull Olympiques (QMJHL)
1995-96Granby Predateurs (QMJHL)
1994-95Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
1993-94Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
1992-93Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
1991-92Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
1990-91Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
1989-90Oshawa Generals (OHL)
1988-89Swift Current Broncos (WHL)
1987-88Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)
1986-87Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)
1985-86Guelph Platers (OHL)
1984-85Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
1983-84Ottawa 67's (OHL)
1982-83Portland Winter Hawks (WHL)
1981-82Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
1980-81Cornwall Royals (QMJHL)
1979-80Cornwall Royals (QMJHL)
1978-79Peterborough Petes (OHL)
1977-78New Westminster Bruins (WHL)
1976-77New Westminster Bruins (WHL)
1975-76Hamilton Fincups (OHL)
1974-75Toronto Marlboros (OHL)
1973-74Regina Pats (WHL)
1972-73Toronto Marlboros (OHL)
1971-72Cornwall Royals
1970-71Quebec Remparts
1969-70Montreal Junior Canadiens
1968-69Montreal Junior Canadiens
1967-68Niagara Falls Flyers
1970-71Quebec Remparts
1966-67Toronto Marlboros
1965-66Edmonton Oil Kings
1964-65Niagara Falls Flyers
1963-64Toronto Marlboros
1962-63Edmonton Oil Kings
1961-62Hamilton Red Wings
1960-61Toronto St. Michael's Majors
1959-60St. Catharines Tee Pees
1958-59Winnipeg Braves
1957-58Ottawa-Hull Canadiens
1956-57Flin Flon Bombers
1955-56Toronto Marlboros
1954-55Toronto Marlboros
1953-54St. Catharines Tee Pees
1952-53Barrie Flyers
1951-52Guelph Biltmores
1950-51Barrie Flyers
1949-50Montreal Canadiens
1948-49Montreal Royals
1947-48Port Arthur West End Bruins
1946-47Toronto St. Michael's
1945-46Winnipeg Monarchs
1944-45Toronto St. Michael's
1943-44Oshawa Generals
1942-43Winnipeg Rangers
1941-42Portage La Prairie Terriers
1940-41Winnipeg Rangers
1939-40Oshawa Generals
1938-39Oshawa Generals
1937-38St. Boniface Seals
1936-37Winnipeg Monarchs
1935-36West Toronto Nationals
1934-35Winnipeg Monarchs
1933-34Toronto St. Michael's
1932-33Newmarket Reds
1931-32Sudbury Wolves
1930-31Winnipeg Elmwoods Millionaires
1929-30Regina Pats
1928-29Toronto Marlboros
1927-28Regina Monarchs
1926-27Owen Sound Greys
1925-26Calgary Canadians
1924-25Regina Pats
1923-24Owen Sound Greys
1922-23University of Manitoba
1921-22Fort William War Veterans
1920-21Winnipeg Falcons
1919-20Toronto Canoe Club
1918-19University of Toronto Schools